Some Business Analyst Certification Opportunities

ArgonDigital - enterprise automation experts

Share This Post

With the heavily influential role that business analysts play in software development, it is worth investigating the opportunities for certification. Here is a short list to get you thinking of where to start when searching for a program that best recognizes your skills.

The International Institute of Business Analysis offers two certification programs:

Certification of Competency in Business AnalysisTM(CCBA®) is a professional certification for business analyst practitioners. The coverage areas include:

  • Business Analysis Planning and Monitoring
  • Elicitation
  • Enterprise Analysis
  • Requirements Analysis
  • Solution Assessment and Validation
  • Requirements Management and Communication

The requirements at a glance are:

  • 3750 hours of business analyst experience in the last 7 years
  • 900 hours in 2 out of 6 knowledge areas or 500 hours in 4 out of 6 knowledge areas
  • 21 hours career development in the last 4 years

Certified Business Analysis ProfessionalTM(CBAP®) is a professional certification for experienced business analysts. While the coverage areas remain the same, the requirements increase to:

  • 7500 hours of business analyst experience in the last 10 years
  • 900 hours in 4 out of 6 knowledge areas
  • 21 hours career development in the last 4 years

Skills Framework for the Information Age is a simple and logical two-dimensional framework consisting of areas of work on one axis and levels of responsibility on the other. This framework, from the UK-based SFIA Foundation, details the areas of work as follows:

  • Strategy & architecture
  • Business change
  • Solution development & implementation
  • Service management
  • Procurement & management support
  • Client interface

SFIA recognises seven levels of professional skill. The levels range from 1 at basic entry to 7 at a very senior level, normally in a large organization.

The Australian Institute of Business Analysis (AIBA) provides individuals with a personalised learning and development pathway. They offer accreditation that covers:

  • Translation & Communication
  • Analysis & Improvement
  • Definition & Redefinition
  • Creativity & Innovation

The accreditation is segmented into 9 levels of varying experience. Although this is mainly recognized in Australia, it still holds core principles that are applicable internationally.

More To Explore